Альманах непознанного

Time of demons, witches and ghosts :: Portal of mysterious

advertisement | map of site | добавить в избранное | contacts | русский | english

Portal of mysterious
  • INDEX
  • LIBRARY
  • DOWNLOAD
  • FORUM
  • LINKS
  • RUBRICS

    ANNOUNCEMENTS

    SIR FRANCIS DRAKE'S DRUM

    The last time Drake's drum was beaten must have been in 1596, when one of Elizabeth I's prominent naval commanders was buried at sea near the port of Portobello, Panama. They say, however, that later a few times I heard it roll. Along with sword and Bible of Admiral the drum is handed to the widow Drake. It still hangs in the great hall of Buckland Abbey in Devonshire, where sir Francis lived.
    the Drum was certainly shown to visitors of the house in the XVIII century and it is believed that the associated legend may have been invented for their entertainment. It was said that the drum had been heard before the battle of Trafalgar and that Drake had risen from the dead to Lord Nelson.the Legend of the drum formed the basis of Henry Newbolt's poem "Drake's Drum", first published in "St. James's Gazette" in 1895. Dying, Francis Drake ordered to send his drum in Devonshire and promised that if it hit at the hour when England will be in danger, he, Drake, like king Arthur, will return and stand up for the homeland.
    the Poem by Newbolt was used to raise the Patriotic mood in 1916, during the First world war. Remembered about him and in world war II, again printed in August 1940 in both cases, the publications were followed by reports that Drake's drum gave a voice. At the beginning of the war in 1914 rumors of mysterious drumming sounds swept through the Western counties, and in 1918 officers aboard the flagship Royal oak heard Drake's drum when the German fleet was defeated near the Orkney Islands. It was said that the sound of Drake's drum was heard during the evacuation of troops from Dunkirk in June 1940, and in September 1940 two army officers heard it on the coast of Hampshire.
    However, there is no record of anyone trying to summon Drake by hitting his drum. When soldiers or sailors heard his shot, he beat himself in an hour of General danger.

    According to legend, after the death of Drake drum Admiral himself began to sound the alarm in times of misfortune.

    According to legend, after the death of Drake drum Admiral himself began to sound the alarm in times of misfortune.

    1 2

    PHOTO-GALLERY
    The devils are pulling sinners off the bridge between heaven and hell.
    SEARCH ON SITE

    STATISTICS


    Рассылка Альманах непознанного
    Rambler's Top100
    ADVERTISEMENT

    COPYRIGHT © 2006-2009 Gilnur
    All rights reserved. The reprint material site only with written permit of the editings. Under quoting active reference to www.anamalia.ru is necessarily.

    Publication document, submitted on site, does not pursue no commercial advantage. But such documents promote the most quick professional and spiritual growing of the readers and are an advertisment of the paper publishing such document. All copyrights on given documents are saved for legal owner. Any commercial and other use except preliminary familiarization suppress.

Альманах непознанного

Время демонов, ведьм и привидений

реклама | карта сайта | добавить в избранное | контакты | русский | english

  • ГЛАВНАЯ
  • БИБЛИОТЕКА
  • DOWNLOAD
  • ФОРУМ
  • ССЫЛКИ
  • РУБРИКИ

    АНОНСЫ

    Барабан сэра Фрэнсиса Дрейка

    В последний раз в барабан Дрейка били, должно быть, в 1596 г., когда одного из выдающихся флотоводцев Елизаветы I хоронили в море вблизи панамского порта Портобелло. Говорят, однако, что и позже несколько раз слышали его дробь. Вместе с мечом и Библией адмирала барабан передали вдове Дрейка. Он до сих пор висит в большом зале Бакленд-Эбби в Девонши-ре, где жил сэр Фрэнсис.
    Барабан наверняка демонстрировали посетителям дома в XVIII столетии и полагают, что связанная с ним легенда, возможно, была придумана для их развлечения. Говорили, что звуки этого барабана слышали перед Трафальгарской битвой и что Дрейк восстал из мертвых, воплотившись в лорда Нельсона.
    Легенда о барабане легла в основу стихотворения Генри Ньюболта «Барабан Дрейка», впервые напечатанного в «Сент-Джеймс газетт» в 1895 г. Умирая, Фрэнсис Дрейк приказал отослать его барабан в Девоншир и обещал, что если в него ударят в час, когда Англии будет грозить опасность, то он, Дрейк, подобно королю Артуру, вернется и встанет на защиту родины.
    Стихотворение Ньюболта использовалось для поднятия патриотического настроения в 1916 г., во время Первой мировой войны. Вспомнили о нем и во Вторую мировую, вновь напечатав в августе 1940 г. В обоих случаях за публикациями следовали сообщения о том, что барабан Дрейка подал голос. В начале войны в 1914 г. по западным графствам прокатились слухи о загадочных звуках барабанной дроби, а в 1918 г. офицеры на борту флагманского корабля «Ройял оук» слышали барабан Дрейка, когда немецкий флот потерпел поражение у Оркнейских островов. Рассказывали, что звуки барабана Дрейка раздавались во время эвакуации войск из Дюнкерка в июне 1940 г., а в сентябре 1940 два армейских офицера слышали его на побережье Гэмпшира.
    Однако нет никаких сведений о том, чтобы кто-то попытался вызвать Дрейка, ударив в его барабан. Когда солдаты или моряки слышали его дробь, он бил сам собой в час общей опасности.

    По поверью, после смерти Дрейка барабан адмирала сам собой начинал бить тревогу во времена несчастий.

    По поверью, после смерти Дрейка барабан адмирала сам собой начинал бить тревогу во времена несчастий.

    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97

    ФОТОГАЛЕРЕЯ
    Водка кармическая особая
    ПОИСК ПО САЙТУ

    СТАТИСТИКА


    Рассылка Альманах непознанного
    Rambler's Top100
    АНОНСЫ
    АНОНСЫ СТАТЕЙ

    COPYRIGHT © 2006-2010 Gilnur
    All rights reserved. Перепечатка материалов сайта только с письменного разрешения редакции. При цитировании активная ссылка на www.anamalia.ru обязательна.

    Публикация документов, представленных на сайте, не преследует никакой коммерческой выгоды. Но такие документы способствуют быстрейшему профессиональному и духовному росту читателей и являются рекламой бумажных изданий таких документов. Все авторские права на данные документы сохраняются за правообладателем. Любое коммерческое и иное использование кроме предварительного ознакомления запрещено.